Penn State Long Snapper Chris Stoll Named Mannelly Award Finalist


Penn State long snapper and sixth-year senior Chris Stoll was named to the Patrick Mannelly Award’s list of finalists, as announced by the organization Monday night. The award annually recognizes the best long snapper in college football.

Stoll was named alongside just two other finalists: redshirt senior Matt Hembrough (Oklahoma State) and fifth-year senior Alex Ward (UCF).

Earlier this season, Stoll was named to the award’s semifinalist group, joined by nine other semifinalist nominees.

“[Stoll’s] gotten better every single year,” head coach James Franklin said at his final weekly press conference of the season. “Not only in his consistency as a snapper, but also as a blocker and his ability to get out in the field and make tackles.”

Since 2019, Stoll has served as the Nittany Lions’ primary long snapper. Before the 2022 season, he was named a team captain for the first time in his career. Franklin previously said Stoll brought “a ton of value” to the coin toss strategy, serving as the team’s spokesperson every week.

Throughout his six seasons in Happy Valley, Stoll has played in 45 games — starting every game in 2022. He was placed on full scholarship in October 2020.

The Mannelly Award’s inaugural presentation was in 2019 when Notre Dame’s John Shannon earned the distinction. Since then, the award’s recipients have been Thomas Fletcher (Alabama) and Cal Adomitis (Pittsburgh) in 2020 and 2021, respectively. This year’s winner is set to be selected on December 10.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:


Sam is a senior from Ashburn, Virginia, majoring in journalism and political science & minoring in German and creative writing. He is a Dallas Cowboys fan who relishes the misery of Eagles fans. All hate messages can be sent to [email protected] or @SamFremin on Twitter.

He may or may not read every single comment he gets.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.